Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Marshall - Maury County Line

Marker ID: THC 3D 42
County: Marshall
Waymark: None


Marshall County

Established 1836; named in honor of

John Marshall

of Virginia. Serving in Congress in 1799, he was Secretary of State from 1800 to 1801, and Chief Justice of the United States from 1801 to 1835.

Maury County

Established 1807; named in honor of

Abram Maury

the Williamson county surveyor, who was one the commissioners appointed to layout counties in West Tennessee. He was State Senator in 1805, later a member of the State House of Representatives.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission