Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Marshall - Williamson County Line

Marker ID: THC 2F 4
County: Marshall
Waymark: None


Marshall County

Established 1836; named in honor of

John Marshall

of Virginia. Serving in Congress in 1799, he was Secretary of State from 1800 to 1801, and Chief Justice of the United States from 1801 to 1835.

Williamson County

Established 1799; named in honor of

Dr. Hugh Williamson.

Colonel and Surgeon General of the North Carolina Militia, a member of the Assembly from Edenton, 1782; later elected to the Continental Congress where he served three terms; he was a signer of the Constitution from North Carolina. The county seat is named for his intimate friend, Benjamin Franklin.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission