Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Abner Houston

Marker ID: THC 3G 13
Location: US 431 Bus. At Church St., Lewisburg, TN
County: Marshall
Coordinates: N 35° 26.982    W 086° 47.321
  35.4497    -86.78868333
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WMC6BJ


2 blocks N., was home of this pioneer, who gave the land on
which Lewisburg stands. Marshall County's first court met there, Oct.
3, 1836, with Wm. McClure, chairman; David McGahey, Secretary; Jas.
Adams, Geo. Cummings, Jas. L. Ewing, John Field, Jos. Cleek, Adam Miller,
Ephriam Hunter, Asa Holland, Jas. Patterson, Jason Shuffield, Sherwood
Dunnigan and Andrew Laird, members.

Tennessee Historical Commission