Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Marshall - Lincoln County Line

Marker ID: THC 3G 19
County: Marshall
Waymark: None


Marshall County

Established 1836; named in honor of

John Marshall

of Virginia. Serving in Congress in 1799, he was Secretary of State from 1800 to 1801, and Chief Justice of the United States from 1801 to 1835.

Lincoln County

Established 1809; named in honor of

Maj. Gen. Benjamin Lincoln

of the Revolutionary War. After service at Saratoga, he was put in Chief Command in the Southern Colonies.
Later, he was Secretary of War under the Confederation, 1781-83.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission