Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Maury - Williamson County Line

Marker ID: THC 3D 41
County: Maury
Waymark: None


Maury County

Established 1807; named in honor of

Abram Maury

the Williamson county surveyor, who was one the commissioners appointed to layout counties in West Tennessee. He was State Senator in 1805, later a member of the State House of Representatives.

Williamson County

Established 1799; named in honor of

Dr. Hugh Williamson.

Colonel and Surgeon General of the North Carolina Militia, a member of the Assembly from Edenton, 1782; later elected to the Continental Congress where he served three terms; he was a signer of the Constitution from North Carolina. The county seat is named for his intimate friend, Benjamin Franklin.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission