Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Monroe - McMinn County Line

Marker ID: THC 1F 22
County: Monroe
Waymark: None


Monroe County
Established 1819; named in honor of

James Monroe.

An officer of the Continental army; Minister to France, 1794 to 1796 and 1803; Governor of Virginia 1799 to 1802; Minister to England 1803 to 1804; Secretary of State 1811 to 1817; and fifth President of the United States.

McMinn County
Established 1819; named in honor of

Joseph McMinn.

Member of State Constitutional Convention, 1796, Speaker of the State Senate, 1805-09, Governor of Tennessee, 1815-21.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.