Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Polk - Monroe County Line

Marker ID: THC 2A 25
County: Polk
Waymark: None


Polk County
Established 1839; named in honor of

James Knox Polk.

Born in North Carolina, 1795. Member Tennessee House of Representatives; Representative in Congress; Speaker, House of Representatives; Governor of Tennessee and eleventh President of the United States. He died in 1849, after successful conduct of the Mexican War, addition of three states to the Union and several fiscal reforms.

Monroe County
Established 1819; named in honor of

James Monroe.

An officer of the Continental army; Minister to France, 1794 to 1796 and 1803; Governor of Virginia 1799 to 1802; Minister to England 1803 to 1804; Secretary of State 1811 to 1817; and fifth President of the United States.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission