Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Rhea - Bledsoe County Line

Marker ID: THC 2B 8
Location: on Dayton Mountain Hwy (TN 30) at Rice Rd., Dayton, TN
County: Rhea
Coordinates: N 35° 34.192    W 085° 06.480
  35.56986666    -85.108
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WM1XDV


Rhea County
Established 1807; named in honor of

John Rhea.

Revolutionary veteran who fought at King's Mountain. Delegate to the North Carolina Convention which ratified the U.S. Constitution; member of the Tennessee Constitutional Convention, 1796, State House of Representatives, 1796-97 & of the U.S. House of Representatives, 1803-15 & 1817-23. One of the early leaders in higher education.

Bledsoe County
Established 1807; named in honor of

Anthony Bledsoe.

Captain in the Colonial Army from Virginia; major in the Revolutionary Army and a colonel of Tennessee Militia. One of the first settlers of Sumner County, he was killed near his home by Indians in 1789.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission