Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Robertson - Montgomery County Line

Marker ID: THC 3C 9
County: Robertson
Waymark: None


Robertson County
Established 1796; named in honor of

James Robertson.

Leader in establishment of the Wautauga Settlement in East Tennessee. In 1778, explored the Cumberland country; in 17791ed an expedition to found Nashborough, which later became Nashville. He is known as "The Father of Middle Tennessee."

Montgomery County
Established 1796; named in honor of

Col. John Montgomery.

Explored the Cumberland Country in 1777. Participated in the punitive expedition against Dragging Canoe, 1779 and accompanied John Donelson on his river voyage to Nashborough. Signer of the Cumberland Compact, first sheriff of the district and founder of Clarksville. Commanded territorial troops in the Nickajack expedition, 1794. Killed by Indians later the same year.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.