Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Kentucky - Tennessee, Robertson County Line

Marker ID: THC 3C 25
County: Robertson
Waymark: None


Robertson County
Established 1796; named in honor of

James Robertson.

Leader in establishment of the Wautauga Settlement in East Tennessee. In 1778, explored the Cumberland country; in 17791ed an expedition to found Nashborough, which later became Nashville. He is known as "The Father of Middle Tennessee."


An Iroquois word meaning Meadow Land. It was visited by Indian tribes from as far west as the Rocky Mountains before 1750. The first white settlement was at Harrodsburg in 1774. Kentucky was the second district west of the Alleghenies to be settled and the first (1792) to become a state.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.