Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Rutherford - Wilson County Line

Marker ID: THC 3A 6
County: Rutherford
Waymark: None


Rutherford County

Established 1803; named in honor of

of Maj. Gen. Griffith Rutherford

of the Revolutionary Army; appointed by President Washington as a member of the Legislature for the Southwest Territory, which later became the State of Tennessee.

Wilson County
Established 1799; named in honor of

David Wilson.

Served with distinction in the Revolutionary War; later was a member of the Territorial Assembly and Speaker of the House of Representatives in 1794.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission