Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Rutherford - Williamson County Line

Marker ID: THC 3D 35
County: Rutherford
Waymark: None


Rutherford County

Established 1803; named in honor of

of Maj. Gen. Griffith Rutherford

of the Revolutionary Army; appointed by President Washington as a member of the Legislature for the Southwest Territory, which later became the State of Tennessee.

Williamson County
Established 1799; named in honor of

Dr. Hugh Williamson.

Colonel and Surgeon General of the North Carolina Militia, a member of the Assembly from Edenton, 1782; later elected to the Continental Congress where he served three terms; he was a signer of the Constitution from North Carolina. The county seat is named for his intimate friend, Benjamin Franklin.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission