Historic Markers Across Tennessee

The Mayors of the City of Sevierville

Marker ID:  
Location: E. Main St. (US 441) at Court Ave., Sevierville, TN
County: Sevier
Coordinates: N 35° 52.128    W 083° 33.928
  35.8688    -83.56546666
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WM11R7


Several attempts were made in the incorporation of the city of Sevierville since its founding in 1795, but it was not until 1901 that a continuous chartered city government was established. Ambrose M. Paine was elected Sevierville's first mayor on May 2, 1901 having received his law degree from the University of Tennessee that same year. The son of a minister he had moved with his family to Sevier County in 1886. An active businessman and State Democratic Party Leader, Mr. Paine was appointed by Gov. Tom Rye to the Judgeship of the Second Judicial Circuit of Tennessee in 1916.

A.M. Paine 1901-1904
A.T. Marshall 1904-1906
W.A. Catlett 1906-1908
M.B. McMahan 1908-1909
W.S. Murphy 1909-1913
H.C. Blair 1913-1915
J.B. Waters 1915-1917
J.S. Ballard 1917-1919
J.L. Thornton 1919-1921
B.W. Murphy 1921-1927
J. Ed. Emert 1927-1931
S.L. Atchley 1931-1933
*Roy C. Marshall 1933-1938
Bert C. Ketner 1938-1945
J. Reed Wade 1945-1947
Robert S. Howard 1947-1951
Robert L. Ogle Jr. 1951-1953
Ronald J. Ingle 1953-1959
James A. Temple 1959-1963
Roy C. Newman 1963-1969
Robert S. Howard 1969-1971
Herbert F. Lawson 1971-1973
J. Cliff Davis 1973-1977
Gary R. Wade 1977-1987
* Died in office

1986 by Sevier Museum of History and Art.