Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Arkansas - Tennessee, Shelby County Line

Marker ID: THC 4E 3
County: Shelby
Waymark: None


Shelby County
Established 1819; named in honor of
Isaac Shelby

who, along with Andrew Jackson, was appointed United States Commissioner; together they arranged the purchase of the Western District from the Chickasaw Indian Nation in 1818.


Named for the Indian tribe found at the mouth of the river, which received the same name, by Marquette and Joliet in 1673. The first settlement was at Arkansas Post in 1686. Part of the Louisiana Purchase, later part of Missouri; Arkansas was given territorial status in 1819 and admitted to statehood in 1836.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission