Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Shelby - Tipton County Line

Marker ID: THC 4E 5
County: Shelby
Waymark: None


Shelby County
Established 1819; named in honor of
Isaac Shelby

who, along with Andrew Jackson, was appointed United States Commissioner; together they arranged the purchase of the Western District from the Chickasaw Indian Nation in 1818.

Tipton County
Established 1823; named in honor of
Jacob Tipton.

Raised a company for defense of the Northwest Territory against the Indians. Killed while leading an attack on Nov. 4, 1791.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission