Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Mississippi - Tennessee, Shelby County Line

Marker ID: THC 4E 7
County: Shelby
Waymark: None


Shelby County
Established 1819; named in honor of
Isaac Shelby

who, along with Andrew Jackson, was appointed United States Commissioner; together they arranged the purchase of the Western District from the Chickasaw Indian Nation in 1818.


Named for the river which is its western boundary. DeSoto is reported to have died within its borders in 1542. Once owned by the Spanish and later by the French, Mississippi became a territory in 1798 and a state in 1817.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission